published at 21/10/2014

Governing of the

The S2E2 cluster is managed by a Board of Directors composed of 22 members elected over 3 years, whose president is Olivier SIMONE (Energie Relais). In addition, the Board of Directors is supported in its decisions by a Scientific council.
Formation :

The composition of the association

The S2E2 association is composed of 4 colleges:

  1. Representatives of the research establishments and training organisations;
  2. Representatives of the companies;
  3. Representatives of the local authorities, public establishments or other organisation participating annually in the funding of the operation of the cluster association with voting rights at the General Meeting;
  4. Representatives of the support structures (high-tech industrial research and development facilities, agencies and economic development organisations, technological clusters, clusters and business groups…).

Governance ensures that all the components are represented and directs the strategic choices.

The General Meeting

The General Meeting comprises all the members of the association split according to the four colleges. It notably has the role of appointing members of the Board of Directors, or renewing their mandates, and deciding on all matters relating to the way the association operates.

The Board of Directors

It comprises 22 members elected for a 3-year period, from the following:

college 1: 9 representatives of research establishments and training organisations, including 2 representatives from the Pays de la Loire
college 2: 12 representatives from companies, including 5 from SMEs, 5 from large enterprises (> 250 employees) and 2 representatives from the Pays de la Loire
a representative of the MEDEE research cluster

The main mission of the Board of Directors is to validate the strategy, the provisional budget and decide on the actions to be undertaken, which it then submits to the General Meeting vote.

The members of the Board of Directors
President Olivier SIMONE, ENERGIE RELAIS (SME, 28)
Vice-president Patrick GALLOY, STMicroelectronics (Groupe, 37)
Treasurer Thierry ALLARD, Revame (SME, 45) 
Secretary Philippe FOUCHER, CEA (Research, 37)
Assistant treasurer Christophe DEMAZIERE, TOURS University (37)
Assistant secretary Jean Marie HUET, EDF (Group, Centre region)
  • Bernard BADIN, ABB France (Group)
  • Arnaud DELEU, Vergnet (SME, 45)
  • Pascal DORÉ, Legrand (Group, 87)
  • Paul DUCASSE, MEDEE (Research cluster, 59)
  • Sabine GUILLIEN, GDF SUEZ (Group, Centre region)
  • Dominique GUYOMARD,  Nantes University (Research & training, 44)
  • David HERIAUD, Selva Electronique (Research & training, (44)
  • Ludovic LABIDURIE, Néolux (SME, 41)
  • Chantal LEBORGNE, Orléans University (Research & training, 45)
  • Marc LETHIECQ, INSA Centre val de Loire (Research & training, Centre region)
  • Patrick MARIONNEAU, EMKA Electronique (SME, 41)
  • Pascal PLANTARD, Tronico (Group, 85)
  • Patrice SOULLIÉ, CNRS (Research & training, 45)
  • Christian ROBLEDO, Angers University (Research & training, 49)
  • Catherine TRUFFERT, BRGM (Research & training, 45)

The Scientific Council

Presided over by Patrick BOUCHER, the Scientific Council comprises 18 members nominated by the board of directors. The Scientific Council guarantees the representativeness of the general meeting with 8 members from College 1, including 2 representatives from the Pays de la Loire, and 10 people from College 2, including 2 representatives from the Pays de la Loire. The Scientific Council, which can be combined with nationally recognised experts in the cluster’s technological domains, has the main roles described below: 

  • to define and validate the key scientific, technological and industrial themes as well as the corresponding technological road maps;
  • to implement the in-house procedures relating to the emergence and support of projects.
The members of the Scientific Council
President Patrick BOUCHER, Supélec (91)
Vice-president Yves PARMANTIER, Orléans University (45)
  • Daniel ALQUIER, Tours University (37)
  • Uwe BRAMKAMP, Atlantic Group (45)
  • Jean-Alain CHABAS, Tronico (85)
  • Frédéric CHAPUIS, STMicroélectronics (37)
  • Nicolas UHL, AEG Power Solutions (37)
  • Pierre LAURAT, LEGRAND (87)
  • Dominique LEMOINE, deputy: Franck BLEIN - CEA Le Ripault (37)
  • Yves BOUGET, LAN (37)
  • Mikael PHILIPPE, BRGM (45)
  • Mohamed MACHMOUM, Nantes University (45)
  • Gabriel SIMEANT, RTE (44)
  • Jean Yves AUSSUEUR, Antea (45)
  • Eric LAURENT, ERDF (37)
  • Christian BERHAULT, Ecole Centrale de Nantes (44)



A non-profit-making association, the S2E2 cluster was created on 12 September 2005 and labelled a competitive cluster on 12 July 2005 by the French inter-ministerial committee for town planning and development (CIADT). The cluster’s headquarters is in Tours and extends across western France in the Centre, Limousin and Pays de la Loire regions.